Culture and Health

What we do

  • We facilitate the use of the Arts and Culture as tools: for promoting health and preventing illness; as supports for treatment trajectories and in relationships.
  • We promote and support the spread of Culture and Health for the purpose of: knowledge, research and specialized training; the development of projects and good practices by sharing existing opportunities and generating favorable new conditions.
  • We stimulate dialogue and cooperation between: the sectors of culture, of social assistance and health care with a view to enhancing social quality and sustainable development.

Current Activities

  1. Call for Case Studies – Operators and experts on the topic are invited to submit, by November 10th 2021, experiences and projects that are currently being developed and implemented in Switzerland using innovative methodologies and on the basis of defined scientific results. The projects deemed most innovative by the scientific committee will be presented by the authors during the “Culture and Health Forum, an alliance for a sustainable future” at the end of November 2021.
    How to apply
  2. Course “Culture and Health” – from October to December, for seven Mondays, leading figures from the world of culture will converse with professors from USI Faculty of Biomedical Sciences on the many aspects proposed by international experts that link culture to health. The seven thematic evenings, open to the public and medical students (with recognition of 1 ECTS), will take place from Monday, 18 October to Monday, 6 December in the USI East Campus multipurpose hall from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
    Learn more

Future Activities

  • Cultura e Salute, alleanza per un futuro sostenibile, November 26-27, 2021 – Switzerland’s first forum on the topic, which will be held in Lugano and during which scientific evidence and the best international practices will be presented which will stimulate debate and comparison thanks to contributions by leading experts.
  • Support Fund – in support of partnership projects involving artists and health care structures in order to develop cultural activities that take place at sites where health care is provided.

Activities Completed

  • Cultura e Salute. Connessi per accorciare le distanze – an event about Culture in the time of Covid-19 whose aim was to discuss and consider the lessons learned from the emergency during the Giornate digitali svizzere. The focus was on the increase in digital cultural productions and how these were used during the lockdown, as well as on the changes underway in cultural policy, on cultural supply and demand and on recent developments in artistic exploration.
    https://digitaldays.swiss/it/programm/connected-to-shorten-distances
    https://www.ibsafoundation.org/en/activities/culture-and-health/connected-to-shorten-distances
  • Cultura e Salute. Connessi per accorciare le distanze – An “aggregator” of digital cultural activities providing a selection of local and international offerings that emerged as a reply to the closing down of cultural institutions by the pandemic. The aim was to shorten the distances between the public, cultural centres and artists, while keeping dialogue alive and highlighting how meaningful the social and emotional aspect of cultural experience is even when it is digital, while waiting for the institutions to open again.
    https://culturaesalute.ch
  • Words that Heal – an open air exhibition on display in the streets of Lugano to help people project their gaze onto nature and the streets that are coming back to life. Forty-five writers – poets and narrators from Italian Switzerland including personalities from the Swiss theatre world –offered unpublished excerpts or passages taken from their recent works which appeared on posters put up in various neighborhoods in order to help the “resurgence of life” after weeks of quarantine.
    https://www.lugano.ch/la-mia-citta/progetti-e-campagne/campagne/parole_curano

Kultur und Gesundheit

Was wir tun

  • Wir unterstützen die Nutzung von Kunst und Kultur als Instrument für die Gesundheitsförderung und die Prävention von Krankheiten; als Unterstützung von Pfaden und Beziehungen in der Pflege.
  • Durch den Austausch von bestehenden Möglichkeiten und die Schaffung neuer Ausgangsbedingungen fördern und unterstützen wir die Verbreitung von Kultur und Gesundheit in den Bereichen Wissen, Forschung und Hochschulbildung und die Entwicklung von Projekten und Best Practices.
  • Wir regen zum Dialog und zur Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Bereichen Kultur, Sozialfürsorge und Gesundheit an, um die soziale Qualität und die nachhaltige Entwicklung zu verbessern.

Laufende Aktivitäten

  • Unterstützungsfonds – für die Unterstützung von Projekten für Partnerschaften zwischen Künstlern und Gesundheitseinrichtungen, um kulturelle Aktivitäten in Pflegeeinrichtungen zu unterstützen.

Durchgeführte Aktivitäten

  • Kurs “Kultur und Gesundheit” – der erste Studiengang für Kultur und Gesundheit, ab Oktober bis Dezember 2021, Montags für sieben Wochen, sprachen Persönlichkeiten aus der Welt der Kultur mit Professoren der Fakultät für Biomedizinische Wissenschaften der USI über die zahlreichen Aspekte, die Kultur und Gesundheit miteinander verbinden. Die sieben Themenabende die der Öffentlichkeit und Medizinstudenten (mit Anerkennung von 1 ECTS) offen stehen, fanden von 18.00 bis 19.30 Uhr in der Mehrzweckhalle des Campus Ost der USI statt.
    Weitere Informationen
    Video vom Unterricht
  • Das erste Schweizer Forum “Kultur und Gesundheit, Eine Allianz für eine nachhaltige Zukunft” – fand am Freitag, 26. November 2021 in der USI-Akademie für Architektur in Mendrisio und am Samstag, 27. November 2021, im LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura statt. Auf dem Forum wurden wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und international bewährte Praktiken vorgestellt, zu Diskussionen anregen zu diesem Thema.
    Weitere Informationen
  • “Call for Case Studies” – Akteure und Experten auf diesem Gebiet wurden eingeladen Erfahrungen und innovative Projekte einzureichen, die in der Schweiz mit Hilfe innovativer Methoden und auf der Grundlage definierter wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse entwickelt und umgesetzt werden. Die vom wissenschaftlichen Beirat als besonders innovativ eingestuften Projekte wurden vorgestellt den Autoren während des Forums “Kultur und Gesundheit, eine Allianz für eine nachhaltige Zukunft” im November 2021 vorgestellt.
    Call for Case Studies
    Ausgewählte Projekte
  • “Kultur und Gesundheit. Verbunden, um Entfernungen zu verkürzen” – Auseinandersetzung mit der Kultur in der Zeit von Covid-19, um die Lessons learned aus der Notsituation zu diskutieren und zu analysieren, die aus den Schweizer Digitaltagen hervorgegangen sind. Die Schwerpunkte sind die Zunahme von digitalen kulturellen Produktionen und deren Nutzung während des Lockdowns sowie die laufenden Veränderungen in der Kulturpolitik, im Angebot und in der Nachfrage nach Kultur und in der Entwicklung der künstlerischen Forschung.
    Schweizer Digitaltagen
    Weitere Informationen
  • “Kultur und Gesundheit. Verbunden, um Entfernungen zu verkürzen” – ein “Aggregator” digitaler kultureller Aktivitäten, der eine Auswahl von lokalen und internationalen Angeboten vorstellt, die als Reaktion auf die Schliessung von kulturellen Einrichtungen aufgrund der Pandemie entstand. Damit wurde beabsichtigt, die Distanz zwischen dem Publikum, den Kulturzentren und den Künstlern zu verkürzen, den Dialog aufrechtzuerhalten und zu verdeutlichen, dass die soziale und emotionale Dimension der kulturellen Erfahrung auch von Bedeutung ist, wenn sie digital ist, während darauf gewartet wird, dass die Einrichtungen wieder öffnen.
    landing.culturaesalute.ch
  • “Heilsame Worte” – eine Ausstellung im Freien, die auf den Strassen von Lugano einen Raum gefunden hat, um den Blick auf die Natur und auf die Strassen zu werfen, die wieder anfangen zu leben. Fünfundvierzig Autoren – darunter Dichter und Erzähler aus der italienischen Schweiz sowie Persönlichkeiten des Schweizer Theaters – stellten unveröffentlichte Stücke oder Auszüge aus ihren neuesten Werken auf Plakaten vor, die in den verschiedenen Stadtteilen aufgehängt wurden, um die “Rückkehr ins Leben” nach der wochenlangen Quarantäne zu unterstützen.
    Weitere Informationen

Zukünftige Aktivitäten